Porsche Enthusiasts Club Forum

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:28 pm
Classic Line Insurance

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Aircon retrofit
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:37 pm 

TIPEC membership: 0
Well I may be mad but I'm thinking of putting aircon into my 944S!
Before I go on I should say I'm an automotive air conditioning tech, what I'm thinking is a 944 condenser and evaporator, any kind of compressor thats R134a compatible and get the lines made up. In theory doable but my main question is... Do our cars come pre wired for the system?
If I pull this off I'll document it and post it.

Anyway cheers the any heads up.

Post subject: Re: Aircon retrofit
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 9:59 pm 

its done in the usa a bit more I guess due to the higher temps, have a look at this, it shows r12 to r134 conversion but has a lot of the parts you need:

http://forums.pelicanparts.com/porsche- ... r134a.html

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:46 pm 

Now don't hold me to this coz I've only owned a porsche for a few weeks , but in my experience of working on cars ( about 25 years ) one wiring loom fits all,it's not cost effective to make different wiring looms for different models you should have the necessary wireing in place but I could be wrong?.im currently building a fisher fury kit car and I use a company in kent for a lot of my parts and they are called car builder solutions and they have everything you need for your own custom built aircon systems

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:35 pm 

I'd be interested to hear how you get on with this.

My Turbo has the original aircon, but typically it doesn't work, so would be interesting to find out more about what is needed to run the system on a modern gas.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:52 pm 

I'd pay you to do this so my 944s2!!!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 8:56 pm